Administrative Fellow for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

yanmeiThe Schmidt College of Science would like to welcome the newly appointed administrative fellow for diversity, equity, and inclusion, Yanmei Li, Ph.D., AICP, an associate professor in the Department of Urban and Regional Planning. As the administrative fellow, Li oversees the college’s diversity, equity, and inclusion committee, which will launch initiatives led by faculty and staff to nurture teaching, learning, and research environment where diversity, equity, and inclusion are highly valued and respected. The initiatives strive to promote and advance diversity and inclusion within and around the college, creating opportunities and platforms for all members of the college to facilitate the realization of the core principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion. 

Li previously served on the Department of Urban and Regional Planning’s diversity committee and researches affordable housing and residential segregation. “I care about low-income people, minority, marginalized populations, indigenous groups, LGBTQI, and perform research surrounding those topics in relation to housing and community development,” Li says.

“One of our goals is to provide a platform for open conversations with faculty, students, and staff, where we can listen to concerns and share information and resources,” Li shares. 

Interim dean Teresa Wilcox, Ph.D., remarks, “A key part of the work Li and the committee will carry out is supporting the incorporation of diversity, equity, and inclusion into the curriculum, as well as the college’s recruitment and retention strategies for students, faculty, and staff.”

“We are looking forward to working closely with units across the college to listen, provide resources and implement activities to support your work in diversity, equity, and inclusion, and see that we collectively achieve success as part of this important strategic platform for the University and college,” states Li.

Learn more about diversity, equity, and inclusion in the Schmidt College of Science.