jeanette and mike award

Pictured left to right: Mike Salmon, Ph.D.; Jeanette Wyneken, Ph.D.; FAU alumna Kelly Stewart, Ph.D.; and FAU alumnus Justin Perrault, Ph.D.

Sea Turtle Researchers Recipients of Career Awards for Conservation

February, 2019 -- The International Sea Turtle Society (ISTS) recognized Jeanette Wyneken, Ph.D., with the ISTS Champions Award for outstanding work towards the effective conservation of sea turtles. And Mike Salmon, Ph.D., was the recipient of the ISTS Lifetime Achievement Award, honoring his significant impact on sea turtle biology and conservation through the course of his career. They received the awards at the ISTS Symposium in Charleston, South Carolina.

Mike Salmon was presented the Lifetime Achievement Award by Ken Lohmann, Ph.D., the ISTS President, who also worked with Mike as a Postdoctoral scholar. Jeanette was presented the Champions Award by Justin Perrault, Ph.D., an alumnus of the Ph.D. program at the University, and Kelly Stewart, Ph.D., and alumna of the master's program.