Theodora Leventouri, Ph.D., Elected a 2019 Fellow of the  American Physical Society  

Professor of Medical Physics, Theodora Leventouri, Ph.D., was elected a 2019 Fellow of the  American Physical Society  (APS). APS recognizes members who have made exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise.

Luc Wille, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of the Physics Department, applauds Theodora’s recognition, “Fellows of the APS are a very select group. Each year, no more than one half of one percent of the total group of Society members are elected as Fellows. Thus, fellowship is one of the highest honors a professional physicist can achieve and this reflects excellence in research, teaching, and service over a sustained period of time. Particularly noteworthy is Dr. Leventouri's development of our Professional Science Master in Medical Physics program ."

Theodora was recognized for advancing physics in medicine by developing and garnering national accreditation for two graduate medical physics programs, and for pioneering studies on structural properties of high-temperature superconductors and apatite based biomaterials.